Heather King and Jayne Grubbs Receive 2011 Waddill Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Wake Forest University Education Department is proud to present the 2011 Marcellus Waddill Excellence in Teaching Award to Heather King (Secondary Education) and Jayne Grubbs (Elementary Education)! Heather King teaches mathematics at West Forsyth High School in Clemmons, and Jayne Grubbs teaches academically gifted fifth and sixth grade students at Caleb’s Creek Elementary School […]

Kenneth Wallace Receives Award from NEA

Kenneth Wallace (MTF, graduating August 2011) was named as one of the five award recipients from the National Endowment for the Arts’ “Challenge to Innovate” competition. Kenneth wrote a blog about his use of iPadio in his research, and received commendation and a $1000 gift for his school. Additionally, the National Endowment for the Arts […]

Claire Moll and Anna Simpson Receive 2011 Hall Award

The 2011 Jerry A. Hall Award recipients are Claire Moll for Elementary Education  and  Anna Simpson for Secondary Education.  The awards are given each year for excellence in student teaching. The presentation will be at the College Honors and Awards Ceremony to be held on Sunday, May 15th at 2:00 p.m. in Brendle Recital Hall. […]

Elizabeth Allen Wins Award at Graduate Research Day

Elizabeth Allen’s study “Algebra 1 Students’ Math Attitudes” was one of three award- winning posters in the Social Science Division at the annual Graduate Research Day. All five Master Teacher Associates participated in the program at Bridger Fieldhouse on March 23. Over 130 posters were reviewed by a large number of students and faculty. Education […]

Kelly Erb receives 2010 Memory Scholarship

The Education Department would like to congratulate this year’s winner of the 2010 Memory Scholarship, Ms. Kelly Erb. Kelly is a student in our Elementary Education Program. The Memory Scholarship was created by family and friends of Professor Jasper L. Memory, Jr., in his honor and to further the cause of education. Professor Memory served […]

WFU Alum Wins Model 21st Century Classroom Grant

Andy Smith (BA Class of ’08 & MA Class of ’09) was one of 10 teachers from the Rowan-Salisbury School System to win a Model 21st Century Classroom grant. Funds will provide Andy with laptops for his students, iTouches, ActivVotes, a Promethean Board, Projector, Document Camera, Digital Cameras, Camcorders, and Printers (http://www.rss.k12.nc.us/21stCentury/default.html) Congratulations, Andy! Detailed […]

Alisa Garatoni and Elizabeth Allen Win 2009 Jerry A. Hall Award

Alisa Garatoni was selected for Elementary Education and Elizabeth Allen (Mathematics) was selected for Secondary Education. The Jerry A. Hall Award for Student Teaching is given to two teacher candidates each year, one from Secondary Education and one from Elementary Education who demonstrate superlative ability in their student teaching. The awards will be presented on […]