Licensure Reciprocity

North Carolina Licensure

Reciprocity applies to the extent that out-of-state education programs are equivalent to the standards and guidelines of North Carolina’s approved education programs. Reciprocity does not guarantee that all areas of licensure will transfer directly from one state to another, and you may be awarded the closest comparable North Carolina areas. In some cases, North Carolina grade levels differ from those on the license you hold from a reciprocal state, and such a difference may be reflected on your license.

North Carolina has reciprocal contracts with:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Each state has different licensure requirements. Please contact the Licensure Office in that state as soon as you decide to teach or counsel there.